Northern Book Prize deadline extended

Big Issue North is media partner

Hero image

The deadline for the Northern Book Prize has been extended to 2 January 2020. Big Issue North is proud media partner.

The Northern Book Prize is awarded by And Other Stories, an independent publisher based in Sheffield, and is part of its commitment to northern writers and to growing publishing in the north of England.

The prize is open to submissions of unpublished, completed book-length works of literary merit written in English by a writer, of any nationality or descent, who lives in the north of England or who has a strong connection to the north. The author can be a prize-winning household name or have never before submitted a line anywhere.

Judges for the 2020 prize are Amy Arnold, whose novel Slip of a Fish won the 2018 Northern Book Prize, Sunjeev Sahota (Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Year of the Runaways), Daniel Trilling (journalist and Orwell Prize-longlisted author of Lights in the Distance), and Tara Tobler, And Other Stories editor.

The winner will receive £5,000, creative and editorial support from And Other Stories and a publishing deal with it.

Visit for more information and read our Q&A with 2018 winner Amy Arnold in the Reading Room section of

Interact: Responses to Northern Book Prize deadline extended

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.